In order to become licensed as a broker in Pennsylvania, a real estate licensee must meet both education and experience requirements.
- Two credits (30 hours) in Real Estate Office Management
- Two credits (30 hours) in Real Estate Law
Required– Six credits (90 hours) each in at least three of the following two-credit courses:
- Valuation of Income Producing Property
- Valuation of Residential Property
- Non-Residential Property Management
- Residential Property Management
- Real Estate Finance
- Real Estate Investment
- Real Estate Construction
- Real Estate Sales
The remaining six (6) credits (90 hours) may be taken in any elective topic approved for broker credit by the Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission. Education credits received for broker licensure are valid for ten (10) years from the date taken.
A total of 16 credits or 240 hours is required to be eligible to sit for the Broker’s Exam. One credit is equivalent to 15 hours. All courses are a minimum of two credits or 30 hours. A maximum of four (4) credits (60 hours) is allowed per course and/or area of real estate study. Applicants must also complete and document a minimum of three years of real estate experience. – Licensed Applicants must demonstrate their experience by documenting 200 points using the following point system:
1.) Sale (Commercial or Residential) 5 points
2.) Exclusive listing which sold (Commercial or Residential) 5 points
3.) Unsold exclusive listing (Commercial or Residential) 1 point
4.) Lease (Commercial) 5 points
5.) Lease (Residential) 1 point
6.) Property Management Assistance (Commercial or Residential) 6 points/per month
(Points are only awarded for full-time employment wherein no other points can be earned.) For additional information on Broker Applicant requirements, please visit the PA State Real Estate Commission website at: www.dos.state.pa.us/estate
Once a broker candidate has successfully completed the education and experience requirements, they are eligible to sit for the Pennsylvania Broker License Exam. To sit for the exam,
- Complete and mail the Broker Examination Eligibility Application, to the State Real Estate Commission. The cost is $40.
- The Real Estate Commission will contact you with the approval, and send the instructions for taking the state exam. This exam is administered by PSI Examination Services. For more information, click here.
- Once you pass the state exam, PSI will give you the required forms to submit to the Real Estate Commission to obtain your license.