Real Estate Licenses
Individuals who maintain a real estate salesperson’s, associate broker’s, or broker’s license from the state of Pennsylvania are required to renew their license based on requirements set forth by the Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission.
All Pennsylvania real estate licensees must renew their license every two years. The current renewal period began June 1, 2016 and ends May 31, 2018.
The Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission requires all real estate licensees to complete 14 hours of education each renewal period. For most licensees, all coursework may be completed in elective topics approved by the Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission. An exception applies to new licensees.
The Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission has developed 14 required hours of mandatory continuing education course content for all licensees in their first renewal cycle. This provision affects anyone licensed on or after December 1, 2015 through November 30, 2017. The two required courses are:
- General Module
- Residential or Commercial Module
For new or reactivated Pennsylvania licenses issued in the last six months of the 2016-2018 renewal period (December 1, 2017 – May 31, 2018), the licensee does not have to complete continuing education. However, the licensee must complete the renewal application and pay the appropriate fees to the Real Estate Commission. This provision applies only during the licensee’s initial renewal period.
Anyone holding an appraiser certification with the Board of Certified Appraisers is required to take 28 hours of continuing education. The next deadline is June 30, 2019.
The Pennsylvania Real Estate Appraisal Board has mandated that a minimum of seven (7) continuing education hours are required on the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) and two (2) continuing education hours on the Real Estate Appraisers Certification Act or Assessors Certification Act.
Appraisal Re-Certification courses
What Do I Do When… – Tuesday, October 9, 2018, 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Students will learn how to protect themselves and what they should do if they suspect coercion or fraud. Students will learn about different enforcement agencies, special situations and be able to define sources of liability. Approved for 7 hours Appraisal
Re-certification (7 hours of PA Real Estate CE- Pending Approval) Instructor, Michelle Bradley. Cost $75.
USPAP 2018-2019 – Friday, October 26, 2018, 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Fulfills 7 hour USPAP instruction requirement. Approved for 7 hours Appraisal Re-certification, and 7 hours PA Real Estate, CE. Instructor, Bob Heiserman.
Cost $100 (includes required Appraisal Foundation workbook.) Also need 2018-2019 USPAP book, $75.
Hybrid Appraisals– Safe or Sorry? – Friday, November 9, 2018 and Wednesday, February 13, 2019, 8:30 a.m.-12:00 p.m. This course will explore the hybrid appraisal models being embraced by some Appraisal Management Companies, and will cover risks an appraiser may take by producing a hybrid report. Approved for 3.5 hours Appraisal Re-certification (3.5 hours PA Real Estate CE-Pending Approval) Instructor, Melanie McLane. Cost $45.
Did They Change That? – Friday, November 9, 2018 and Wednesday, February 13, 2019, 1:00 p.m.-4:30 p.m. This course will review federal laws such as Dodd-Frank, along with their impact on the appraisal industry. Approved for 3.5 hours Appraisal Re-certification. Includes 2 Hours Mandatory PA Law requirement. (3.5 hours PA Real Estate CE-Pending Approval) Instructor, Melanie McLane. Cost $45.
How to Avoid Appraisal Review Kickback– Thursday, November 29, 2018, 8:30 a.m.-12:00 p.m. Course will cover what is changing with collateral underwriting technology, items gaining more attentions such as comparable photos, revised reports and upgrades, and will discuss such things as, “Should I Stay or Should I Go?” Approved for 3 1/2 hours Appraisal Re-certification (3.5 hours PA Real Estate CE.-Pending Approval) Instructor, Bob Heiserman. Cost $45.
Factory Built Housing – Thursday, November 29, 2018, 1:00 p.m.-4:30 p.m. Course will cover Myths, Misconceptions and Reality with Factory Built housing and will discuss items such as: history, compliance certificates, modular home types, construction techniques and much more. (Pending Approval for 3 1/2 hours Appraisal Re-certification and 3.5 hours PA Real Estate CE.) Instructor, Bob Heiserman. Cost $45.
Big Data and the Real Estate Profession – Monday, December 10, 2018 and Monday, April 15, 2019, 8:30 a.m. –12:00 p.m. This course will explore the influence of big data on real estate transactions. This course will discuss RPR and will distinguish the difference between information and knowledge, and how to apply that data to everyday practice. Approved for 3.5 hours Appraisal Re-certification (3.5 hours PA Real Estate CE-Pending Approval) Instructor, Melanie McLane Cost $45.
Understanding Assessments – Monday, December 10, 2018 and Monday, April 15, 2019, 1:00 p.m.-4:30 p.m. This course will explore the assessment process in Pennsylvania for agents and appraisers. Students will learn how tax assessments work, and affect the marketing, sale and valuation of real estate. Approved for 3.5 hours Appraisal Re-certification (3.5 hours PA Real Estate CE-Pending Approval) Instructor, Melanie McLane Cost $45.