Real Estate Licenses
Individuals who maintain a real estate salesperson’s, associate broker’s, or broker’s license from the state of Pennsylvania are required to renew their license based on requirements set forth by the Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission.
All Pennsylvania real estate licensees must renew their license every two years. The current renewal period began June 1, 2018 and ends May 31, 2020.
The Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission requires all real estate licensees to complete 14 hours of education each renewal period. For most licensees, all coursework may be completed in elective topics approved by the Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission. An exception applies to new licensees.
The Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission has developed 14 required hours of mandatory continuing education course content for all licensees in their first renewal cycle. This provision affects anyone licensed on or after December 1, 2017 through November 30, 2019. The two required courses are:
- General Module
- Residential or Commercial Module
For new or reactivated Pennsylvania licenses issued in the last six months of the 2016-2018 renewal period (December 1, 2017 – May 31, 2018), the licensee does not have to complete continuing education. However, the licensee must complete the renewal application and pay the appropriate fees to the Real Estate Commission. This provision applies only during the licensee’s initial renewal period.
Anyone holding an appraiser certification with the Board of Certified Appraisers is required to take 28 hours of continuing education. The next deadline is June 30, 2019.
The Pennsylvania Real Estate Appraisal Board has mandated that a minimum of seven (7) continuing education hours are required on the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) and two (2) continuing education hours on the Real Estate Appraisers Certification Act or Assessors Certification Act.
Appraisal Re-Certification courses
What Do I Do When… – Thursday, March 21, 2019, 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Students will learn how to protect themselves and what they should do if they suspect coercion or fraud. Students will learn about different enforcement agencies, special situations and be able to define sources of liability. Approved for 7 hours Appraisal
Re-certification and 7 hours of PA Real Estate CE for the 2018-2020 Ce cycle. Instructor, Michelle Bradley. Cost $75.
Hybrid Appraisals– Safe or Sorry? – Tuesday, March 26, 2019, 8:30 a.m.-12:00 p.m. This course will explore the hybrid appraisal models being embraced by some Appraisal Management Companies, and will cover risks an appraiser may take by producing a hybrid report. Approved for 3.5 hours Appraisal Re-certification (3.5 hours PA Real Estate CE-Pending Approval) Instructor, Melanie McLane. Cost $45.
Did They Change That? – Tuesday, March 26, 2019, 1:00 p.m.-4:30 p.m. This course will review federal laws such as Dodd-Frank, along with their impact on the appraisal industry. Approved for 3.5 hours Appraisal Re-certification. Includes 2 Hours Mandatory PA Law requirement. (3.5 hours PA Real Estate CE-Pending Approval) Instructor, Melanie McLane. Cost $45.
How to Avoid Appraisal Review Kickback– Thursday, May 16, 2019, 8:30 a.m.-12:00 p.m. Course will cover what is changing with collateral underwriting technology, items gaining more attentions such as comparable photos, revised reports and upgrades, and will discuss such things as, “Should I Stay or Should I Go?” Approved for 3 1/2 hours Appraisal Re-certification (3.5 hours PA Real Estate CE.-Pending Approval) Instructor, Bob Heiserman. Cost $45.
Factory Built Housing – Thursday, May 16, 2019, 1:00 p.m.-4:30 p.m. Course will cover Myths, Misconceptions and Reality with Factory Built housing and will discuss items such as: history, compliance certificates, modular home types, construction techniques and much more. Approved for 3 1/2 hours Appraisal Re-certification and 3.5 hours PA Real Estate CE for the 2018-2020 cycle. Instructor, Bob Heiserman. Cost $45.